Coming Soon

How To Apply for the Arkansas Medical Cannabis Program

June Tapia



After more than a 2 year delay, the Arkansas Medical Cannabis Program will soon be up and running. Arkansas cultivators have already started growing cannabis. Dispensaries are expected to open for business by April, 2019. If you plan to enroll in the program, here is what you need to know in order to apply:

Qualifications To Participate in the Program

  1. Must be 18 years of age or older or a minor with parental consent
  2. Must have a written certification from a physician with whom you have a bona fide relationship
  3. Be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency; AR Driver's License or AR State ID
  4. Pay one time $50 non-refundable fee
  5. Have a diagnosis for at least one of the qualifying medical conditions which include the following:
  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus/ acquired immune deficiency syndrome
  • Hepatitis C
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Tourette’s syndrome
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Ulcerative colitis
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Severe arthritis
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Cachexia or wasting syndrome
  • Peripheral neuropathy
  • Intractable pain which is pain that has not responded to ordinary medications, treatment or surgical measures for more than six (6) months
  • Severe nausea
  • Seizures including without limitation those characteristic of epilepsy
  • Severe and persistent muscle spasms including without limitation those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
  • Any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the Department of Health

How Do I Apply? 

The preferred and fastest way to apply is online. Your card will be emailed to you as soon as it is available. You will be given step by step instructions. Link to Arkansas Medical Cannabis Program.https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/qualified-patient-requirements. You can access all the pertinent information about the program by clicking on the following headings:

  • Apply Online
  • New Patients
  • Caregivers
  • Submit Petition (for a new qualifying condition)
  • Forms
  • FAQs

If you are mailing your application, send to:

Arkansas Department of Health Medical Marijuana Section 4815 West Markham Slot 50 Little Rock, AR 72205

You can request that forms be mailed to you at 1-833-214-8619, if you cannot access them online.

The staff at Bloom Medicinals in Texarkana will be offering patient outreach in order to help prospective patients and caregivers fill out applications. Please check this website for notifications for the first patient outreach session in our new dispensary.

Information About Caregivers 

  • Any prospective patient may designate a caregiver to purchase their medicine
  • All minor patients must have a caregiver
  • Must be 21 years old or be a parent of a minor patient
  • Must be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency
  • Cannot have been convicted of an excluded felony offense
  • Can also be a registered patient
  • Can serve more than one patient at a time
  • Must also apply for a card at a cost of $50
  • Complete a Criminal History Check for a fee of $37 (if completed online.) Please NOTE that this requirement is waived for parents or guardians of minor applicants

Other Need To Know Information 

  • Physicians certification is valid for 30 days only. If you do not finish your application within that time frame, you are required to get a new certification. The applicant must submit the completed physician certification as part of the application process
  • Your medical cannabis ID card is valid for one year from the issue date OR for the amount a time designated by your certifying physician
  • Each cardholder may visit any of the registered dispensaries
  • Each patient is allowed to purchase 2.5 oz of product every 14 days; flower, concentrates, topicals, tinctures and edibles will be available. Smoking of cannabis is prohibited by Arkansas law, so no pre-rolls or joints will be available for purchase
  • No home grow is allowed
  • No members of the Arkansas National Guard or US Military may apply
  • Appointments at the Arkansas Department of Health are available for help completing the application for both patients and caregivers. Call to schedule an appointment
  • Arkansas has strict laboratory testing rules for any cannabis product sold in dispensaries. They test for pesticides, microbial contaminants, heavy metals, water activity and moisture, and THC and CBD concentration.
  • There are 8 dispensary zones in the state of Arkansas. There are currently 32 dispensary licenses which have been awarded. Dispensaries are expected to open in April, 2019.

Here is the link again to the Arkansas Medical Cannabis Program website: https://www.healthy.arkansas.g...

Here is the link to the Rules and Regulations for the Arkansas Medical Cannabis Program including information about laboratory testing:

https://www.healthy.arkansas.g...